Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.

X

Navigate / Profile / Search

Profile

DEPARTMENTS   »   Student and Family Services   »   Divisions   »   Family Support Services   »   School Social Workers

School Social Workers

School Social Workers are trained professionals employed by the school district to enhance student learning by providing services which strengthen home, school, and community partnerships.

Services to Students
·         Provide crisis intervention
·         Assist in conflict resolution and problem-solving skills
·         Assist students in understanding and accepting self and others
·         Assist students in becoming resilient and successful learners
 
Services to Families
·         Help families become advocates by assessing problems affecting students' educational adjustment
·         Promote positive working relationships between families and school staff
·         Support families to access school and community resources
·         Advocate for community/school services to meet the needs of students and families
 
Services to School System
·         Identify factors in the student’s home, school and community environments that may be barriers to learning
·         Work as a part of a team to strategize behavior management interventions and/or develop individual behavioral plans
·         Provide staff development around issues of social emotional learning
·         Facilitate collaborative programs with social and mental health agencies
 
 
School Social Workers
 
Benson --
       Julie Mason                   402-557-3071                       julie.mason@ops.org
Blackburn --
       LaKeisha Bonam         402-344-3385                       lakeisha.bonam@ops.org
Bryan --
       Laura Wilwerding         402-557-3176                       laura.wilwerding@ops.org
Burke --
       Anne Beacom               402-557-3208                       anne.beacom@ops.org
Central --
       Dawnna Hill                  402-557-3300 x7031           dawnna.hill@ops.org
ILP --
       Rushton L. Gunter       402-344-7895 x1026           rushton.gunter@ops.org
North --
       Patricia Spellman         402-557-3484                       patricia.spellman@ops.org
Northwest --
       Stephanie Hoesing      402-557-3572                       stephanie.hoesing@ops.org
South --
       Eric Stec                         402-557-3667                       eric.stec@ops.org