Contact Us

Jaimie Cogua

Coordinator of EL, Dual Language, Migrant and Refugee Education

(531) 299-9405

Email: jaimie.cogua@ops.org


Alana Schriver

Refugee Specialist
(531) 299-9580

Email: alana.schriver@ops.org

 

Guadalupe Perez-Aguilar
Secretary of EL, Dual Language, Migrant and Refugee Education

P: (531) 299-0259
F: (531) 299-0369

Email:  guadalupe.perez-aguilar@ops.org

Refugee Education

 

Abdi Hussein

Somali Liaison

531-299-9380

Abdi.Hussein@ops.org

Al Khoune

Karenni/Burmese Liaison

531-299-9509

Al.Khoune@ops.org

Jean Claude Ashimwe

(Ki)Swahili/French Liaison

531-299-9563

JeanClaude.Ashimwe@ops.org

Kumar Gurung

Bhutanese/Nepali Liaison

531-299-9583

Kumar.Gurung@ops.org

Nibras Al-Kadhim

Arabic Liaison

402-898-9145

Nibras.Al-Kadhim@ops.org

Paw Ni Thaw

Karen Liaison

531-299-9385

Paw.Thaw@ops.org




For languages not listed, please contact the OPS Bilingual Liaison coordinator:

Javier Rodriguez-Torres at 531-299-9583.


If a bilingual liaison or contracted interpreter is not available, please use:

Certified Languages International (800-218-4906) for immediate over-the-phone interpreting services.

Students should never be used as interpreters.


Terminology

Refugee:
Person who has been forced to flee his or her country because of persecution, war, or violence. A refugee has a well-founded fear of persecution for reasons of race, religion, nationality, political opinion or membership in a particular social group.

Special Immigrant Visa (SIV):

Person who worked with the U.S. Armed Forces or under Chief of Mission authority as a translator or interpreter in Iraq or Afghanistan

Asylum Status:
A form of protection available to persons who:
- Meet the definition of refugee
- Are already in the United States, or
- Are seeking admission at a port of entry

For more information on refugees and the federal U.S. resettlement program, please visit: United Nations High Commission for Refugees: https://www.unhcr.org/en-us/ Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR): https://www.acf.hhs.gov/orr

For local and cultural information, please visit: www.omaharefugees.com